CMA Shipping is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC


The Commodore Award

The Commodore Gala Dinner is the pinnacle of any CMA Shipping event.
Each year, The Commodore Award is presented to a person in the international maritime industry who has contributed to the continued growth and development of the industry.
This exclusive and intimate gathering of leading maritime personalities is a key networking opportunity for all involved - those that attend put themselves at the heart of the conversation of change and development.
Reserve your place today to avoid disappointment!

Congratulations to our 2023 Commodores!

Cesare d’Amico, CEO of d’Amico Dry Cargo and Paolo d’Amico, President and CEO of d’Amico International Shipping (DIS), the Italian cousins leading the d’Amico Group, will be awarded the Connecticut Maritime Association (CMA) Commodore for the year 2023 in a first-of-its-kind dual award. 

The cousins will follow a succession of influential maritime industry leaders to receive the award and take the baton from current Commodore and Eagle Bulk Shipping CEO Gary Vogel.

Past Award Winners

2021/22 - Gary Vogel, CEO, Eagle Bulk Shipping

2020/21 - Lois Zabrocky, CEO, International Seaways, Inc.

2019 - John C. Hadjipateras, CEO & President of Dorian LPG Ltd 

2018 - Sabrina S. M. Chao, Executive Chairman, Wah Kwong Maritime Transport Holdings Ltd.

2017 - John D. “Jack” Noonan, CEO, Chembulk Tankers

2016 Paddy Rodgers, CEO of Euronav NV

2015 - Capt. Panagiotis N. Tsakos, Founder, Tsakos Group

2014 - Robert Bugbee, President & Director, Scorpio Tankers Inc. & Scorpio Bulkers Inc.

2013 - Peter Evensen, President & CEO, Teekay Corporation

2012 - Øivind Lorentzen, III, CEO, SEACOR Holdings Inc.

2011 - Angeliki Frangou, Chairman & CEO, Navios Group of Companies

2010 - Philippe Louis-Dreyfus, President, Louis Dreyfus Armateurs Group

2009 - Capt. Wei Jiafu, President & CEO, COSCO Group

2008 - John Fredriksen, Chairman, CEO & President, Frontline Ltd.

2007 - Morten Arntzen, President & CEO, Overseas Shipholding Group, Inc.

2006 - Torben G. Jensen, Chairman & CEO, The Clipper Group

2005 - C. Sean Day, Chairman, Teekay Shipping Corporation

2004 - Peter C. Georgiopoulos, Chairman & CEO, General Maritime Corporation

2003 - Stelios Haji-Ioannou, Chairman, easyGroup

2002 - Frank Tsao, Group Chairman, IMC Group of Companies

2001 - Marc Saverys, Managing Director, CMB

2000 - Per Heidenreich, President, Heidenreich MarineCompanies

1999 - Richard du Moulin, Chairman, Marine Transport, Corporation and Chairman, Intertanko

1998 - William A. O’Neil, Secretary-General, International Maritime Organization

1997 - Gerhard E. Kurz, President, Mobil Shipping and Transportation Company

1996 - Dr. Helmut Sohmen, Chairman, World-Wide Shipping Agency, Ltd. (HK)

1995 - Gregory B. Hadjieleftheriadis, President, Eletson Corporation

1994 - Thomas E. Moran, Chairman, Moran Towing Corporation

1993 - Philip Loree, Chairman, Federation of American, Controlled Shipping

1992 - George P. Livanos, Ceres Hellenic, George P. Livanos, Ceres Hellenic

1991 - Jacob Stolt-Nielsen, Chairman, Stolt-Nielsen, Inc.

1990 - Ole Skaarup, Chairman, Skaarup Shipping Corporation